It’s soya mince, omg…

(serves 2)

 

Low in fat, cholesterol-free and cheap! All good things to hear, and soya mince is all three. Though there is some debate on the negatives of a diet high in soybean products, a small amount a couple of times a week is great way to introduce another protein variation to a plant-based diet. So when I found a 450g bag in Tesco for £1.75 I had to give it a try. I made a chilli with mixed beans and carrots which turned out really well, but there are so many chilli recipes out there. I was feeling creative a couple of days ago and made some spiced soya mince and sweet potato balls which were delicious so I’ll tell you about those instead…

  
INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • 150g soya mince (defrosted to room temperature)
  • Juice of ½ a lemon
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 tsp flaxseed
  • Salt and pepper to taste


METHOD

  • Peel the sweet potato, chop into medium chunks and boil for ten mins until soft.
  • Mix all of the other ingredients in a bowl. Drain and add the sweet potato, mash the mixture together with a fork.
  • Get stuck in with yer hands! Form some balls. This amount of ingredients made nine golf ball sized ones. You could make them big or small, depending on how you like your balls.
  • Set your oven to 200 degrees C, lightly oil a baking tray to prevent sticking. Pop your balls on and bake for half an hour.

  

Super easy and super tasty. It was my first time trying frozen meat free mince and I was apprehensive at first. But I found that the texture was good and it took on all the flavours of the other ingredients. Really ideal to make in bulk and freeze. I served mine with cauliflower couscous, veggies, salad and sriracha sauce (which I’m currently obsessed with). I snuck in flaxseed for extra goodness and when I make these again I’ll add in some ground up seeds for additional crunchiness. I promised a few of you on the What Fat Vegans Eat group I’d tell you my recipe for these, so there you go. Enjoy my balls.

S.x

Standard

Leave a comment